Can I Block Someone on LinkedIn: Complete Guide
There are times when you encounter people you do not want to connect with on LinkedIn. You might want to block them. As a result, you must be wondering can I block someone on LinkedIn. Well like other social media apps, you can also block anyone you want on LinkedIn.
The problem with accepting invitations from people that you don’t know or aren’t interested in. Things can become uncomfortable – fast – when you accept invitations from strangers. When this happens, blocking can be an effective solution.
When you block someone on LinkedIn, it means that you are no longer linked together (if you are) and that you are not able to communicate with each other or view each other’s profiles and updates.
The platform allows you to block as many as 1,000 people. The person you’ve blocked will not receive a notification that they’ve been blocked in most cases. It’s not a problem if you’re currently sharing an account with this person or you have previously shared an account with them.
Therefore, you do not have to worry about the backlash you’ll likely receive if you decide to block someone on the site or if you’ll hurt their feelings by doing so. If you’d like to block people on LinkedIn, either on your desktop computer or on a mobile device, here’s how you can do it.
How to block someone on LinkedIn
The process of blocking someone on LinkedIn is the same no matter if you are using a desktop computer, an Android smartphone, or an iOS device.
- To block a LinkedIn contact, you will have to open the LinkedIn app on your Android or iOS smartphone and open the official LinkedIn website if you are on a desktop. Go to the contact’s profile that you wish to block.
- On the desktop version, click the arrow next to the person’s name, and on the mobile app, it will be below the person’s name. For more information, click on the ‘More’ option.
- If you click on the ‘More’ button, you will find an option that allows you to report or block someone. Click this button to continue.
- To block a visitor, select the ‘Block’ option, and then tap on ‘Block’ to confirm that you want to block the visitor.
You have now blocked someone on LinkedIn. As far as unblocking someone on LinkedIn is concerned, you can simply follow these steps to unblock that person.
- Go to your LinkedIn profile page by opening the LinkedIn app on your smartphone.
- In the top right-hand corner of the screen, there is a gear-like icon that you need to click on.
- At the top of the ‘Settings’ menu, you will notice a ‘Privacy’ option. Click on it.
- You can now choose the option to unblock the person you are blocking and click on ‘Unblock’.
- Your password must be entered correctly for the process to be confirmed.
What Happens When You Block Someone on LinkedIn?
Following are some of the things you will experience when you block someone on LinkedIn:
- Neither of you has access to each other’s LinkedIn profiles.
- You are unable to send one another messages via LinkedIn.
- You won’t be able to see what the other person shares.
- You will no longer be connected if you were previously connected.
- In the “Who viewed your profile” section, you cannot see each other.
- It does not notify you of any upcoming LinkedIn Events that they are hosting.
- The blocked person will no longer be able to receive your newsletter.
- They will no longer be able to endorse or recommend your products or services.
- The blocked person and you will not be able to see each other in the “People You may know” section.
- Only you will be able to unblock the user and nobody else will receive a notification.
Sharing personal and professional information on social media platforms may be advantageous, but it is important to always check your privacy settings to understand how others can contact you without your permission.
In the case of blocking users in groups and shared accounts:
The members of the group cannot block the administrators of the group. They need to remove their admin permissions before they can block the admins.
The only way you can block a manager of a group that you are a member of is by leaving the group, then blocking the individual.
Read More: LinkedIn competitors
To block a member of a group that you manage, you have to first delete the member from that group, and then block him or her.
Users can request that admins block particular members of a group.
If you have shared a LinkedIn Recruiter account with a user who is blocked, that user will receive an email notification that the user has been blocked. In this manner, the user can manage the account effectively.
Here are some cases where a blocked user will see your Posts and Profiles
Even if you block someone, they will still be able to see public information about you, including your profile, content that has been posted, and your shares and comments. This can be avoided by configuring your public profile setting.
Mutual connections of the blocked person are allowed to share content in your news feed created by the blocked person. If you do not want these updates showing in your feed, you can hide them at any time.
LinkedIn may cache data regarding a member’s profile if you access it via mobile or API. It is possible to refresh your cache by signing in and then signing out, and then removing the cached data.
- Further, you can limit how people can reach you by:
- You can hide your public profile by clicking the “Hide my profile” button.
- The profile photo can also be hidden.
- Change the name that appears on your public profile.
- You can also choose whether to receive invitations.
- Select whether your Open Profile should be turned on or off.
- If desired, remove any connections of the first degree.
These tips are intended to prevent stalkers and weirdos from contacting you at any time anymore, so I hope you find them helpful.